Microsoft Teams is the new exciting piece of software released by Microsoft. Although not fully GA yet, many people are already using/testing it.

Today I noticed the release notes in my teams app. Below the overview of the latest march updates.

 

New compose box:  Your compose box got a complete redesign. The experience behind a lot of the actions surrounding editing messages has been affected. Now, you have separate icons for the following actions:

  • Expanding your compose/message box
  • Adding an emoji to a message
  • Sending a GIF
  • Creating and sending a custom meme or sticker
  • Attaching a file
  • Scheduling a meeting

You’ll find that your expanded compose box still offers all the same formatting options, but you’ve got a lot more space to play around with creating custom memes and stickers, or searching for popular or trending GIFs. Clicking the meetings icon below your compose box will take you straight to our meeting form, where you can immediately schedule a meeting with whoever you’re talking to in a channel or chat.

Auto favorite five channels: From now on, whenever you favorite a new team, its top five most-favorited channels will be automatically added to your favorites. This makes it easier to get up and running in a new team, and it also tells you where all the actions is in that team’s channels. If you start following a channel that contains fewer than five teams, we’ll auto-favorite new channels as they’re created.

favourite

Transfer a call: Ever been in a one-on-one call in Microsoft Teams and wished you could immediately transfer them to someone else? Well, now you can. Start out by clicking the … button in your call window, then start typing the name of the call recipient into the transfer dialog. Once you’ve selected your recipient, just click the transfer button, and you’re all set!

Put a call on hold: Here’s some more good news about calling: Now, you can put a call on hold! To do that, click the on the … while you’re on a call or in a meeting and you’ll have the option of putting your call on hold. When you do that, everyone else in the call will get a notification that they’ve been put on hold, and they won’t be able to hear or see you for the duration. If you were in the middle of sharing your screen, that content will no longer be visible while your call is on hold, either. When you’re ready to return to your call, just click “Rejoin” or “Resume” and you’re good to go.

Increased team size: Now, you can create teams that availablehold up to 999 people!

Status stays ‘Available’ longer: Now, if your status is set to ‘Available’, it’ll stay that way even when Microsoft Teams is just running in the background.

 

Advertisements