Recently I noticed a new setting in the Member permissions related to the General channel:
So now it is possible to restrict the use of the General channel. So for some teams the general channel can be restricted to team owners who place team announcement in the General Channel. When the General channel has been restricted you will see the following “Only Owners can send messages to this channel”:
These settings are just relevant to posting messages so users can still upload documents.
Then there is one more option. The second option allows anybody to post however a warning will tell users how many people can see the message. In this case I get 6 people who can see the message.
Huh, what? 6 people??? I only have 3 people in my team! Earlier I removed 3 of my team members from the team so it looks like this warning might not always give you the right number.